By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Breaking: Pleasant View referendum passes
Juda School referendum fails
2024 april election

MONROE - Preliminary results from the April 2 Wisconsin Spring Election are in, and Green County voters showed up in strong numbers to support Pleasant View Nursing Home. Green County Supervisors will canvas and certify the results on Tuesday, April 9, 2024.

The Pleasant View referendum sought to continue funding of over $700,000 a year in order to keep operations going. With all 34 precincts reporting, 5,601 (65.01%) out of 8,615 voters approved the measure.

The Brodhead schools referendum passed by 65 votes, 889-824. However, the Juda schools operational referendum failed by just 13 votes, 233-200.

Full Green County Results can be found here.

Full Lafayette County Results can be found here.

A further follow-up story will be available to read in the Saturday, April 6 edition of the Monroe Times.

In local contested races, School District of Monroe voters selected all three incumbents - Jim Curran (1,999), Teresa Keehn (1,890) and Phil Vosberg (1,646) - back onto the school board. Challenger Nick Baker (1,489) came up 157 votes shy of Vosberg.

Juda's school board race had five challengers for three spots. Jennifer Brooks (269), Rustin Whitney (256), and Dennis Pfingsten (218) secured spots on the board. Suzanne Trotter (183) and Courtney Martins (152) were the other two challengers.

Black Hawk also had five challengers for three spots on its school board. Mindy Stauffacher (318), Jason Figi (328) and Cali Schliem (267) were elected. Brenda Peterson (259) and Jason Herbst (156) were also on the ballot.

Voters in the Argyle School District selected three to the school board. Mandy Johnsen (243), Jonathan Stoeger (221) and Stephanie Holmes (235) outperformed John Leigh (211).

In the City of Brodhead Alderperson at large race, Jill Baxter (433), Benjamin Gritzmaker (354) and Paul Naramore (352) won seats. J. Michael Lowery was short with just 262 votes.

The Village of Albany voted in three Trustees in a four person field. Tonya Stephan (123) was the leading vote-getter, followed by Fred Johnson (102), Kimberly Klein (87) and Bert Hefty (85).

Other contested Green County races included:

Town Supervisor 3, New Glarus: Mark Pernitz 257, Shane Gashette 89.

County Supervisor, District 7: Brenda Carus 134, Hayden John Webber 70.

County Supervisor, District 10: Larry Kranig 186, Sue Nelson 173.

County Supervisor, District 11: David Tschudy 180, Scott Timm 105.

County Supervisor, District 16: Isaiah Carlson 217, Andrea McSherry 126.

County Supervisor, District 24: Erica Roth 149, Kurt Schafer 94.

County Supervisor, District 25: Todd Larson 242, Ronald Roesslein 138.

Contested Lafayette County races included:

County Supervisor, District 10: Gary Benson 147, Nancy Fisker 99.

Shullsburg Mayor: Verne Jackson 164, Duane Wedige 105.

Shullsburg Alderperson at Large: Gloria Swenson 150, Emmett Reilly, Duane Wedige 120.

Argyle Village President: Thomas Moore 89, Tim Olmstead 49.

Argyle Village Trustee: Lisa Johnson 119, Delton Fransen 114, David Green 110.

Belmont Village Trustee: Kathy Riechers 122, Brandon Masbruch 104, Dennis Popp 103.

Benton Village Trustee: John Perkins 125, Chuck Wartner 117, Cal Robbins 98.

Blanchardville Village Trustee: Kimmie Marty 85, Diana Kaiser 81, Mark Emberson 71, Denis Olson 58, Don Wankerl 53.

South Wayne Village Trustee: Emily Stietz 76, Jeff Cobb 55, Debborah Bartosik 26.

Darlington School Board: Stacy Gratz 528, Jeff Riechers 496, Rick Fink 494, Benjamin Trout 432.

Shullsburg School Board: Travis Lyne 311, Amber Russell 275, Lee Gill 260.