By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Monroe teachers award scholarship to Houston
Placeholder Image
MONROE - Monroe Education Association president James Cassidy announced Friday that MEA awarded its annual scholarship to 2017 Monroe High School graduate Kylie Houston.

MEA is the teachers union for Monroe's public schools. The union's annual scholarship program awards Monroe High School seniors who exemplify the union's ideals of academic excellence, community involvement, personal character and lifelong learning, according to a news release.

The scholarship is for $600 and will be awarded to Houston after she successfully completes her first semester of higher education study.

Houston plans to study mortuary science. She has been active in theater, serves as a mentor to younger students and works as a lifeguard at the city pool.