By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates set for summer, fall elections

MONROE — Candidates for the summer primary election and fall general election are now set, after a ballot deadline June 4. The primary election is on Aug. 11, and the general election, including the vote for president, is Nov. 3.

In the Second Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Black Earth) has a repeat Republican challenger, Peter Theron of Madison. Challenger Bradley Burt of Sun Prairie, an independent, was denied ballot status after not submitting nomination papers, according to Wisconsin Elections Commission tracking.

State Rep. Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville) is opposed in the 51st Assembly District by Democrat Kriss Marion of Blanchardville, a Lafayette County supervisor.

State Rep. Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit) will face Republican challenger Tawny Gustina of Beloit in the 45th Assembly District.

In the 80th Assembly District, incumbent State Rep. Sondy Pope (D-Mount Horeb) faces two challengers: Republican Chase Binnie of Mount Horeb and Democrat Kimberly Smith of Oregon.

Local county district attorneys are unopposed for reelection, including Craig Nolen in Green County and Jenna Gill in Lafayette County, both Republicans, and Democrat David J. O’Leary in Rock County.