By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Repeat offenders: Duo doubles up
Times photo: Christopher Heimerman Monroe junior Pam Lehman measures up a forehand shot from well beyond the baseline in the final game of hers and McKenzie Bruces 6-4, 6-2 semifinals victory over Kiera Berger and Gwen Sutter during the 37th Annual Monroe City Doubles Tennis Tournament. Lehman and Bruce fell in Sundays championship match to Ellie Shuda and Kristin McArdle, 6-2, 7-5.
MONROE - Dan Bartholf and Joe Soddy doubled their pleasure at the 37th Annual City Doubles Tennis Tournament this past weekend.

The pairing won its second straight Class A Men's city title and its third in four tries, by surviving Kevin Monahan and Steve Flanagan in a grueling three-set match, 7-6, 5-7, 6-2.

It was the same matchup as last year's finals, during which Bartholf, a local attorney, and Soddy, a recent UW-Madison graduate, defeated the older tandem in straight sets.

The repeating champs used strong service, good open-court returns and sharp volleying to prevail.

The path to the finals was treacherous as Scott Priske and Todd Townfend of Brodhead took Bartholf and Soddy to three sets in the semifinals, 4-6, 6-1, 6-3. Monahan and Flanagan also needed three sets to get past Chris Garrow and Mike Nortman, 3-6, 6-3, 6-1.

The Garrow-Nortman tandem defeated the Brodhead duo, 6-3, 6-2, in the third-place match and brothers Matt and Andrew Le took the consolation with a 4-6, 6-1, 6-2 win over Mark Hoesly and Bernie Roidt.

On the women's side, Monroe High School sophomore Kristin McArdle and freshman Ellie Shuda defeated senior Pam Lehman and junior McKenzie Bruce in the finals, 6-2, 7-5. Kiera Berger and Gwen Sutter took third with their win over Kelsey Erickson and Emily Grossen.

The Class B Mens championship went to Jakob Baertschi and Jon Elmer as they defeated Joe Ganshert and Stewart Wyss in a see-saw finals, 4-6, 6-2, 7-6.

Third-place honors went to Jordan Everson and Eric Radke with their 6-3, 4-6, 6-4 win over Joey Thoman and Chris Line.

Jeremy and Matt Miller won the 14-and-under title by defeating Erin Gellings and Chelsea Miller in the finals, 10-3. Ellyott Baertschi and Kevin Noretga edged Jake Flannery and Matt Coplien, 10-6, to win third place.