By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Black Hawk-Darlington rolls to regional title
Placeholder Image
MARSHALL - The Black Hawk-Darlington wrestling team crowned six regional champions en route to winning the WIAA Division 3 Marshall regional to qualify for the team sectional on Tuesday.

Black Hawk-Darlington's regional champions include Cody Blosch (113), Cayden Milz (120), Paul King (126), Kolbe Ubersox (132), Hunter Bredeson (138) and Jake Tuescher (heavyweight).

The Black Hawk-Darlington team will wrestle Brookwood in a Division 3 Parkview sectional semifinal dual meet at 6 p.m. Tuesday in Orfordville. If Black Hawk-Darlington knocks off Brookwood, they would wrestle in the sectional championship at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

"It's a great honor and achievement for the kids to make it to the team sectional," Black Hawk-Darlington co-coach Willy Chambers said. "They have obviously worked hard. Because of their talent and work ethic they earned it. When you looked at the records, I thought we could have that many (regional champions) but you never know until you wrestle. It's hard to compare records."

The Warrior-Redbirds will send 10 wrestlers to the Division 3 Mineral Point individual sectional on Saturday. The regional second-place finishers also moving on are Tyler Mosely (170), Bailey Schiling (182), Brody Milz (195) and Cody Nielsen (220).

"I think the SWAL is one of the best wrestling conferences," Chambers said. "It's consistently tough."

Blosch 20-16 at 113 defeated Marshall's Cai Resler 6-2 in the championship match after two byes. After a first-round bye, Cayden Milz (26-13) pinned Marshall's Zach Copus in 24 seconds and then pinned Waterloo's Brandon Springer in 3:59 in the title match.

King (30-8) pinned Marshall's Trevor Smith in 51 seconds in a semifinal match. He then pinned Parkview's Conner Nolan in 3:43 in the championship match. Kolbe Ubersox (35-2) received a first-round bye. Ubersox then pinned Waterloo's Carlos Garcia in 2:39. He won the title after Deerfield's Cal Hansen had to drop out of the match due to an injury.

Bredeson (26-14) defeated Cambridge's Aiden Ciha 6-1 in a semifinal match. He then pinned Parkview's Colt Peterson in 5:06 for the title. Tuescher (22-13) at heavyweight pinned Marshall's Parker Ellickson in 1:58 in the championship match.

Two Pecatonica-Argyle wrestlers who won regional championships include Prestan Rosenstiel (182) and Lucas Gilbertson (195). Both Rosenstiel and Gilbertson finished the regional 3-0.

After a first-round bye, Rosenstiel (20-11) pinned Black Hawk-Darlington's Schiling in 3:10. In the title match, he pinned Marshall's Charlie Lewis in 48 seconds. Gilbertson (17-13) received two byes in the first two rounds.

In the championship match, Gilbertson pinned Black Hawk-Darlington's Brody Milz in 2:50.