By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Veterans Park Board announces new officers
The newly elected officers for 2013 for the Green County Veterans Memorial Park Board of Directors, are, from left, Larry Ayres, president; Donna Douglas, secretary; Jackie Hustad, treasurer; and William Hustad, vice president. (Photo supplied)
MONROE - Green County Veterans Memorial Park Board announced recently the newly-elected officers for the 2013 board of directors.

New members include Larry Ayres, Brodhead, as president; Donna Douglas, Monroe, as secretary; Jackie Hustad, New Glarus, as treasurer; and William Hustad, New Glarus, as vice president.

Directors serving with the elected officers are Stan Erlandson, Monroe; Bruce Sutherland, Brodhead; and Sheryl Tschudy, Monroe.

The board also completed the first phase of the veteran's park with the installation of six flag poles and the American flag and service flags. Goals for the coming year include plans for the installation of the memory brick walkway, memorial benches and the installment of a large entrance marker, which will be dedicated on Memorial Day at the Veterans Park.

Fundraising to obtain a helicopter to enhance the site will be one of the goals for phase two, which is set this year.

Board meetings are held on the last Monday of each month at the Zilmer-Riley American Legion Post Home. Individuals and organizations interested in assisting with the future development of the Green County Veterans Memorial Park are encouraged to attend.