By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Monroe City Council: Dec. 17, 2015
Placeholder Image
MONROE - On Tuesday, the Monroe Common Council:

• Approved the annexation of parcels of land owned by the city that were never properly annexed from the Township of Sylvester. These parcels are part of the Monroe Municipal Airport.

• Agreed to detachment parcels of land owned by Russell Rufer near the municipal airport which was never properly separated from the city to become a part of Sylvester Township.

• Set a public hearing date for an ordinance to rezone a number of properties along 8th Street and 8th Avenue. The zoning re-classification would change the area from industrial to General Business District or commercial.

• Authorized removing a no-parking zone on the south side of the 1300 block of 16th Street.

• Accepted a resolution authorizing the purchase of self-contained breathing apparatuses for the Monroe Fire Department. There were 36 units bought for $242,694 from Jefferson Fire Safety. The department secured a grant for $223,172, which was authorized for use by the council as was the sale of the apparatuses the department has currently to be returned to the department capital account. The total cost to the city for the units was $11,722.

• Approved the 2016 airport operations contract. The agreement is between the city of Monroe and Touch & Go Aviation, Inc.

• Directed Martin Shanks, assistant city administrator, move forward with his plans to assign consideration of the recommendations in the downtown parking study to separate committees.

• Heard Mayor Bill Ross recognize city of Monroe employees for 10 to 35 years of service. They are: Michael Mortimer of the police department, 10 years; Eric S. Wild and Gregory Wedig of the street department, 15 years; Heidi Robertson of the police department, 20 years; Michael Kennison and Sandra Menehan of the water utility department, 25 years; Daniel Skatrud and Jerry Dahlen of the police department, David Weckerly of the parks department and Joseph Solawetz of the waste water utility, 30 years; Paul Klinzing of the parks department, and Fred Kelley and Luann Radke of the police department, 35 years.

• Re-appointed via business by mayor several positions and appointed suggested election inspectors. Ross re-appointed Phil Rath to the Green County Development Corporation Board for a three-year term; Donna Ellingson to the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners for a five-year term; and Jean Tullett, Mike Doyle, Sherrill Kelly, Robert Duxstad and Chris Barth to the Business Improvement District Board for two-year terms. Chris Soukup was also appointed to the BID Board for a two-year term.

- Bridget Cooke