By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cheesemakers group adds new board members
The Foreign Type Cheesemakers Association recently recognized two long-serving, retiring members of its board of directors: Jeff Wideman, left, Maple Leaf Cheese, who retired as vice president after serving as a director since 1982, and John Wenger, Wenger's Springbrook Cheese, who retired as a director after serving on the board since 1992. (Photo supplied)
MONROE - The Foreign Type Cheesemakers Association recently held its annual election for members of the board of directors.

The newly elected board members are: Adam Buholzer, vice president of production, Klondike Cheese Inc., Monroe; John Jaeggi, cheese industry and applications coordinator, Center for Dairy Research, University of Wisconsin, Madison; and John (Randy) Pittman, owner, Mill Creek Cheese, Arena.

They join the following returning board members: Steve Stettler, president, Decatur Dairy, Brodhead; Bruce Workman, Edelweiss Cheese, Monticello; Mark Witke, treasurer; Zimmerman Cheese, Wiota; Myron Olson, Chalet Cheese, Monroe; Gary Grossen, Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker and Cheese-maker at Babcock Hall Dairy, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Chris Roelli, owner, vice president, Roelli Cheese Company, Darlington; and Rob Frie, plant manager, secretary, Emmi Roth USA, Monroe.

The Foreign Type Cheesemakers Association was established in 1935 to perform quality-control testing on the cheese produced by Green County Cheesemakers and today serves the cheese and dairy industry throughout the Midwest. The association operates an ISO 17025 certified state-of-the-art laboratory in Monroe.