By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Boyce, Armstrong retain council seats
MONROE - The Monroe Common Council lineup of aldermen will remain the same for the coming year.

Two council races saw challengers in the election Tuesday, April 1.

In Ward 3, incumbent Michael Boyce retained his seat with 146 votes, just 23 more than his challenger Larry Christopher III gathered.

"I'm happy to be back on the council to serve the constituents of Ward 3," Boyce said. "I believe there's an opportunity to lower taxes while maintaining services, and I look forward to working with the entire council and the mayor."

Christopher could not be reached for comment.

In Ward 7, incumbent Louis Armstrong won with 93 votes against 41 write-in votes. Ron Marsh, a former mayor, campaigned as a write-in candidate for that race. Write-in votes will be tallied today, April 2.

In other city races, incumbents were unchallenged.

Tom Miller had 89 votes in Ward 1. Jeff Newcomer, appointed last year, had 103 votes to gain the Ward 4 chair in his own race.

Charles Koch returns to the council for Ward 5 this April with 104 votes.

Alderman Tyler Schultz gave up that seat to run for mayor.

In Ward 9, only eight write-in votes were cast. Richard Thoman had announced himself as a write-in candidate for that seat, after Charles Schuringa announced his retirement from city council.

Except in Ward 7, write-in votes were fewer than three per race.

The city saw nearly 1,300 voters at the polls Tuesday.