By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Area candidates for August, November elections

MADISON — The fall primary and general election will be larger than most years and more complicated.

This year’s ballots include candidates for president and U.S. Senate in addition to House of Representatives, state Senate and state Assembly and county district attorneys, though there will be no contested DA races on area ballots.

The state races are where the complications come in, with voters moved into new Senate and Assembly districts after redistricting following the 2020 U.S. Census. 

Richland County, which was formerly in the 17th Senate District, and counties to the east are in the new 14th Senate District, which previously covered central and east-central Wisconsin. Rep. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) will face one of two Democrats, Sarah Keyeski of Lodi or Chris Unterberger of Wisconsin Dells. Nov. 5 after the Aug. 13 primary.

The 32nd Senate District, which includes Vernon County, will feature Sen. Brad Pfaff (D-Onalaska) against Republican Stacey Klein of Trempealeau.

The 49th Assembly District includes most, except for the northeastern part, of Grant County and all of Crawford County. Rep. Travis Tranel (R-Town of Hazel Green) is running for reelection against Democrat Scott A. Walker — not the former governor — of Prairie du Chien.

The 51st Assembly District now includes Lafayette and Iowa counties, northeastern Grant County and parts of western Dane County. Two Democrats, Elizabeth Grabe of Mount Horeb and Robert Harlow of Barneveld, are running Aug. 13 to face Rep. Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville) Nov. 5.

Richland County is now in the 41st Assembly District. State Rep. Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc), who now represents the 50th Assembly District under the old maps, will face Democrat Julia Henley of Blue River.

The new 50th Assembly District includes Green County and southwestern Dane County. Rep. Jenna Jacobson (D-Oregon), who presently represents the 43rd Assembly District, will face Republican Rich Johnson of New Glarus Nov. 5.

In the 96th Assembly District, which includes Vernon and southern La Crosse counties, Democrats Steve Campbell of Viroqua and Tara Johnson of La Crosse will face off Aug. 13 to take on Rep. Loren Oldenburg (R-Viroqua) Nov. 5.

The U.S. Senate primaries Aug. 13 to determine opponents for U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin) include Republicans John Schliess of Rice Lake, Rejani Raveenran of Stevens Point, Douglas Alexander of Madison, Charles Barman of Sharon, Eric Hovde of Madison and George Lucia of De Pere.

Assuming they qualify for the ballot the Nov. 5 Senate election also will include Jo EcoArchy Nathan ZeeBeSun Kingfisher of Ashland of the Wisconsin Green Party, former Libertarian candidate Phil Anderson of Middleton now in the Disrupt the Corruption Party, and Thomas Leager of Madison in the America First Party.

Three Democrats, state Rep. Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point), Eric Wilson of Eau Claire and Rebecca Cooke of Eau Claire, are running against U.S. Rep. Derrick Van Orden (R-Prairie du Chien) in the Third Congressional District. Also running Nov. 5 is Libertarian Bryce Tanner Thon of Eau Claire.

The Second Congressional District will feature a repeat of the 2022 Republican primary Aug. 13, with Erik Olsen of Madison against Charity Barry of Mineral Point. The winner will face U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Black Earth) Nov. 5.

The Aug. 13 primary also will include two referendum questions. One will ask if the state Constitution should be amended to prevent the Legislature from delegating its power to determine government funding. The other would prohibit a governor from allocating federal money without the approval of the Legislature.