By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Honor Roll: Aug. 3, 2017
Placeholder Image
WHITEWATER - A total of 385 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater student-athletes representing all 20 of the institution's varsity sport programs were named to the 2016-17 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Honor Roll, announced Monday.

The Warhawks' 11 women's teams had 194 honorees, while 191 student-athletes from the nine men's teams garnered Scholastic Honor Roll accolades. The honor roll is part of the "WIAC Scholar-Athlete Recognition Program," a conference initiative sponsored by Badgerland Financial.

In addition to the 385 individual awards, UW-Whitewater was named an All-Academic institution as student-athletes earned a GPA equal to, or greater than, the collective GPA of the overall student body.

To be eligible for the list, student-athletes must have carried a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Nearly 50 percent of the WIAC's 5,105 student-athletes achieved honor roll status. Area student-athletes include:

Blanchardville: Anna Wolf, formerly New Glarus High School, freshman, women's swim and dive, business and economics.

Monroe: Jessica Jackson, senior, women's track and field team, general business.

Darlington: Kent Miehe, senior, men's track and field team, mathematics.

New Glarus: Landon Zimmerman, freshman, men's track and field, accounting.