By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
A labor of love
Monroe man finds meaning, joy in building personalized benches
wenger benches 1
Fritz Wenger owns and operates Production Grinding & Machine, where he makes benches for people and communities along with other products. - photo by Brenda Steurer

MONROE — Once you notice the first heavy duty, personalized metal bench or sign — possibly in a park or at a school — you seemingly see them everywhere. 

They’re made by Fritz Wenger, a Monroe native who fell into Production Grinding & Machine, a business that lends itself to creativity, working with people and construction with heavy metal in his shop on Aebly Road. 

It’s a career choice he never would have dreamed for himself, but one he’s fallen in love with. 

“What I do for a living and what I do for fun is about the same thing,” he tells people. 

The business started unexpectedly around 2000 when leaders in Brodhead were looking to add seating to the local Veterans park and wanted something that would last. They knew of Wenger, who had worked at different shops in the area for years, and was highly skilled in fabrication work. 

They came up with the idea for benches — and what Wenger created was something that would last with little maintenance. It also allowed for a personalized touch that could take its meaning in any direction. 

Two decades later, Wenger said he’s still the only person he knows that makes the benches. They’re made from 316th steel, and will last for years with very little maintenance, which is a big draw for many who choose them. 

FYI ..

Those interested in sponsoring a bench around the courthouse can contact Dick Marti rmarti@greencountywi.org. 

“I’m 60 — all these benches will outlast me easily,” Wenger said. “There’s no reason these benches won’t last 20 years — probably more.”