By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
John Waelti: The charade of cabinet confirmation hearings
Placeholder Image
The U.S. Constitution states that the president shall nominate and appoint major office holders, including Cabinet members, judges of the Supreme Court, and other federal judges and major office holders. Major office holders include several non-Cabinet, but cabinet level, positions such as the administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, director of the Office of Management and Budget, ambassador to the United Nations, and the White House Chief of Staff. With the exception of the White House Chief of staff, Cabinet and sub-Cabinet level positions all require advice and consent of the Senate.