By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nolden takes 1st at Sauk Invite
Placeholder Image
SAUK CITY - Pecatonica-Argyle finished seventh at the Sauk Prairie Invitational on Saturday, while Sugar River was 13th of the 17 teams.

Sugar River senior Mike Nolden turned in the top are performance, taking first overall in the 189-pound match. Nolden pinned Pecatonica-Argyle's Ian Sigg in the semifinals in 1 minute, 15 seconds. Nolden, now 21-2 on the year, pinned Sauk Prairie's Caleb Sisbach in 3:30 in the championship match.

Sugar River's Brooks Hendrickson defeated Pecatonica-Argyle's Tyler Francois in the 140-pound seventh place match by an 8-7 decision. Hendrickson's teammate, Young-Chul Vetterli, was pinned by Columbus' Justin Maier (135) in the seventh place match.

Pecatonica's Chris James (130) lost to Watertown's Barrett Rehm in the third place match, 1-0. Cody James (125) fell to Sauk Prairie Dylan Wilson-Shaker in a fifth place match and teammate Ethan Averill (112) also lost to Avery Hackett in a fifth place match. The Vikings' Jake Melvin finished in eighth place in the 171 bracket.

Whitewater Duals

WHITEWATER - Brodhead-Juda went 1-3 as a team Saturday, defeating Big Foot 51-27, but losing to Whitewater (40-31), Waukesha South (44-26), and Lakeside Lutheran (40-30).

Hunter Colden went 4-0 on the day at 152-pounds to lead Brodhead-Juda.

Dylan Severson (285), Kramer Lewis (160), Cale Zettle (135), and Jordan Kraak (103) all went 3-1 with a pin. Severson had two pins.

Northeast Invitational

GOOSE ISLAND, Iowa - Black Hawk took only seven wrestlers to the six-team tri-state invitational.

Junior Andy Stauffacher, who was winless in his first season of wrestling a year ago, went 4-1 with four pins and tied for first place in the heavyweight division.

Bryant Luhman (171-pounds) also went 4-1 with three pins for the Warriors, taking second place.

Patrick Mahoney (215) was third with three pins and a 3-2 record. Jared Pickett (103) also took third with a 3-2 record.

Lena-Winslow/Stockton (Ill.) won the team trophy with wrestler Trey Griffin being named the outstanding senior wrestler of the tournament.