By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Four BH grapplers advance
Placeholder Image
DEERFIELD - Black Hawk will send four wrestlers to the Division 3 Westby sectional tournament Feb. 20, and Pecatonica-Argyle will send two after Saturday's regional.

Isaac Sigafus, Kody Costa, Kyle Stauffacher and Bryant Luhman each qualified for the Warriors, while Pecatonica-Argyle's Cody James and Ross Gilbertson also reached sectionals.

Sigafus (25-12 overall) took first place in the 125-pound bracket during the Deerfield regional, going 2-0 with a pair of pins.

Costa (13-15) took first in the 135-pound weight class, picking up a 9-2 decision in the finals against Waterloo's Cody Cahoon.

Stauffacher (21-16) knocked off Cambridge's Leif Sperle 12-5 in the 145-pound championship to move on.

Luhman (22-15) pinned Pecatonica-Argyle's Nate Leonard in 1 minute, 34 seconds in the 171-pound weight class. Luhman then lost to Cambridge's Keaton Hubred in the title match, 4-3, before pinning Waterloo's Alex McCunn in 3:24.

James (21-15) won his only match of the day, pinning Waterloo's Hans Skalltzky in 4:56 in the 112 division.

Gilbertson (27-12) pinned both of his opponents in the heavyweight division. In the semifinals, Pecatonica's big man pinned Waterloo's Evan Kurkowski in 1:43. In the finals, Gilbertson needed 3:19 to put away Deerfield's Walker Jaroch.

Black Hawk earned 139 team points and Pecatonica-Argyle garnered 130 points, placing the teams fourth and fifth, respectively, in the six-team regional. Cambridge won the meet with 246.5 total points.

Lancaster Regional

LANCASTER - Darlington has three wrestlers moving on to the Division 3 Westby Sectional. Devin Malott (119 pounds), Tanner Andrews (189) and Mark Brugger (heavyweight) each advanced from Saturday's regional tournament.

Malott (35-2) pinned Fennimore's Calvin Jeardeau in 3:14 in the semifinals before beating Mineral Point's Garrett Smart by decision, 3-1, in the finals.

Andrews (32-8) pinned Fennimore's Brandon Chappell in the semifinals in just 36 seconds, but lost by major decision to Lancaster's Trevor Landon in the finals, 15-6.

Brugger (31-8) pinned River Ridge-Cassville's Kyle Johnstone in the semifinals in 1:34. In the finals, Brugger edged Ethan Welsh of Iowa-Grant with a 2-0 decision.

Darlington took third as a team, behind Iowa-Grant and champion Mineral Point.