By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Times wins WNA awards
Placeholder Image
MONROE - The Monroe Times earned several first-place awards in the Wisconsin Newspaper Association's annual Better Newspaper Contest.

Earning first place for Overall Page Design was Shari Rampenthal, assistant editor.

Laura Hughes, advertising manager, won first in Best Newspaper Promotion for "Meet Your Classified Team." The sales team of Hughes, Steve Allen, Tai Ruegsegger, Diane Albright and Mae Burke also won first place for Best Advertising Idea (Series) for "An Era That Was, That Will Never Be Again."

The 100th Anniversary Cheese Days special section earned second-place awards in two separate categories: The newsroom was honored for the section in the editorial category, and the advertising team was awarded in the advertising division.

Mary Jane Grenzow, editor, also took second place in Overall Page Design.

Mark Nesbitt, sports reporter, earned a third-place award in the Sports News Story category for "Dream Season Ends," about Darlington football's state title game. He also earned an honorable mention in the Sports Pages category.

The advertising team won third-place awards in Best Multiple Advertiser Spread for "Christmas in July"; Best Advertising Special Section for a project commemorating the 1965 Palm Sunday Tornado; and Best Advertising Idea (Series) for "Moments in Time." Hughes also won third place for Best Newspaper Promotion for Monroe Woman's Club's Toy Drive.

In the Best Newspaper Promotion category, the sales team earned an honorable mention for "On Entertainment."

The contest period was September 2014 to August 2015. Winners were announced Friday at the WNA annual convention in Middleton.