By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Solid waste board tables action to remove Monroe
Placeholder Image
BRODHEAD - The fate of Monroe's representation on the board that oversees the county transfer station remains uncertain as the board holds off on recommending the city's seats be taken away. Current Green County ordinance states the eleven-member Solid Waste Management Board be made up of five members of the county board, four citizens who have "demonstrated interest in the problems of solid waste management," and two representatives from the city of Monroe. The Monroe representatives must be the chair of Monroe's Board of Public Works and the president of its Common Council - currently Aldermen Charles Koch and Brook Bauman, respectively.