By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Monroe Main St. among accredited
Placeholder Image
MONROE - Monroe is one of 18 Wisconsin Main Street communities in the state to have been nationally accredited as 2010 National Main Street Programs. The Wisconsin Main Street Program, in partnership with the National Trust Main Street Center, has verified that each of the local Main Street programs has met performance standards for commercial district revitalization. Algoma, Beloit, Chippewa Falls, Fond du Lac, Lake Mills, Marshfield, Lincoln Village (Milwaukee), Platteville, Port Washington, Rhinelander, Sheboygan Falls, Stevens Point, Tigerton, Viroqua, West Allis, West Bend and Whitewater have also been accredited in 2010.Each year, the center recognizes Main Street Communities that meet 10 national standards of performance based on a number of specific criteria ranging from broad-based community support to on-going training for staff and volunteers.There are 36 current Main Street communities in the state.