By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dumped: County drops Monroe reps from landfill board
Placeholder Image
MONROE - Green County removed the two City of Monroe representatives on the solid waste management board - an expected move in the entities' stalemate over the landfill. The Green County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously Tuesday to remove the two city representatives from the board that oversees the county's transfer station near Brodhead, where trash is taken before being transported to Janesville for burial. Removing the positions, which was tabled earlier this summer, caps more than three years of haggling between the city and county over the transfer station.