By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City council reorganizes
Monroe City Clerk Arianna Voegeli, left, swears in newly elected Monroe Aldermen Mickey Beam and Donna Douglas, as well as re-elected council members Michael Boyce and Rob Schilt, Mayor Louis Armstrong and council member Richard Thoman during a council meeting April 17 at the City Hall Annex. (Times photo: Bridget Cooke)
MONROE - The Monroe Common Council convened Tuesday at the City Hall Annex to install new members, say goodbye to departing aldermen and confirm committee appointments made by Mayor Louis Armstrong.

New council members Donna Douglas and Mickey Beam, who were elected April 3 as registered write-in candidates, took their seats as now former aldermen Charles Koch and Tom Miller looked on from a full audience.

Aldermen nominated and elected Michael Boyce as council president in a unanimous voice vote and appointed the Monroe Times as official city newspaper. They also heard remarks from outgoing Youth in Government students, who spoke publicly about the impact serving on city committees has had on their speaking skills and understanding of local government.

Armstrong appointed each council member to standing committees:

• Jeff Newcomer, Rob Schilt, Douglas and Beam were placed on the Board of Public Works.

• Boyce, Brooke Bauman, Chris Beer and Ron March were appointed to the Finance and Taxation Committee. Boyce will serve as committee chair.

• Beer, Richard Thoman, Marsh and Douglas were placed on the Judiciary and Ordinance Review Committee with Beer as the committee chair.

• Boyce, Beer, Thoman and Douglas were appointed to the License Committee with Thoman as the chair.

• Bauman, Schilt, Douglas and Beam will serve on the Public Safety Committee with Schilt as the committee chair.

• On the Salary and Personnel Committee, Bauman will serve as chair with Boyce, Newcomer and Thoman as fellow members.