By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Area Kohl award winners named
Placeholder Image
MONROE - The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship Program has announced recipients of the 2011 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students and teachers, including several from the area.The local award winners are: Adam Paris, Belleville, Belleville High School; Alyssa Quinn, Monroe, Monroe High School; Malissabeth Friedly, Juda, Monroe Indep Virtual Charter School, Monroe. They were honored with a luncheon ceremony on March 27 in McFarland.The $1,000 awards are being made to 100 teachers, their schools, and 181 graduating high school students. Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

We hope you enjoyed your FREE preview of

Subscribe to access more great content!