By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Academic Honors
Placeholder Image
FREEPORT - The Highland Community College Foundation distributed over $350,000 to Highland students for the 2008-2009 academic year at its annual Scholarship Awards ceremony Sept. 28. More than $4.6 million has been distributed to Highland students since the foundation was formed. Some scholarships are based on merit and financial need; others are awarded to students based on where they attended high school and what major they are studying. The students and the scholarship(s) they received are as follows:

Cedarville: Jamie Schneider, Harry A. Warthen;

Dakota: Chelsea Bordner, Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial; Jessica Langholf, Northwestern Illinois Two-Cylinder John Deere Club; Annie Mitchell, Marion Byram; Kyle Schubert, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Business); Derek Schurch, Philip Gordon Memorial;

Davis: Jennifer Kneubuehl, Marilyn Casey Nursing; Michelle Saar, Joseph S. and Bettye J. Mihina Nursing; Bryce Stearns, Catherine and Steven Turner;

Lena: Sarah Andrews, Kathleen A. Reed Memorial; Brittany Beam, American Business Women's Association; Kimberlyn Cross, James J. Bergagna Memorial; Lindsey Folgate, Ada Mook Memorial; Caitlin Geilenfeldt, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill; Katie Huber, Betty and Ray Stamm; Anna Lyvers, Robert and Lois Harlan; Lesli Schlichting, Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial; Tyler Sellman, James A. Davis Memorial; Lyndsey Spurlock, First Presbyterian Church; Nathan Spurlock, Marion Byram; Joey Stott, Project Succeed; Abbi Switzer, Louis Fauser/Bankers Mutual Life; Megan Thede, Marion Byram; Lori Timms, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Nursing); Michael Werkheiser, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Athletics);

McConnell: Sierra Hoff, Virginia Ames Cosmetology; Brittany O'Haver, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Upward Bound);

Monroe: Timothy Gellings, Dr. and Mrs. Spencer Phillips; Heather Westgard, Harold Lee Offenheiser;

Orangeville: Zachery Ackerman, Whitetails Unlimited; Tasha Diemer, Charlotte A. Zartman; Jessica Dominick, Louis Fauser/Bankers Mutual Life; Paula Harty, Marilyn Casey Nursing; Stephanie Mann, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill, Samantha Snider, Marion Byram; Nickolas Temple, Raymond A. Klee Trustmark; Kursta Williamson, Harry A. Warthen;

Rock City: Rachel Hepler, Raymond A. Klee Trustmark; Stephanie Mareth, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Athletics);

Stockton: Britney Baysinger, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial (Business); Evan Bruce, Fredrick and Alic Kirkman Memorial, Samantha Brunner, Harold D. Walkup and Louis Fauser/Bankers Mutual Life; Stephanie Freese, Jim Sacia (High School Senior); Tyler Havens, Marion Byram; Ally Kupersmith, Kathleen A. Reed Memorial; Anna Magee, Irma Dittmar Ames Memorial; Amanda Randecker, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill; Megan Schwitz, Harold D. Walkup;

Warren: Brittny Block, Emmert and Florence Klaas Nursing;

Winslow: Teagan Kluckhohn, Wid Hance Automotive Scholarship; Kaitlyn Mahoney, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill; Steven Zimmerman, Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial.